Jean-Claude Juncker elected as "European Banker of the Year"

Banker of the Year

Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the Eurogroup and Prime Minister of Luxembourg, has been elected "European Banker of the Year" by "The Group 20+1", an association of 20  finance and business journalists based in Frankfurt am Main. According to the jury, Juncker receives the award as a representative for all of the EU's Finance Ministers, who saved the banking sector from collapsing with the tax payers' money. Without this concerted action, none of the leading banks would have survived 2008, states the jury. The prize "European Banker of the Year" has been awarded since 1994. Past award winners include ECB's President Jean-Claude Trichet or Peter Wuffli of UBS.

more news


Award Ceremony European Banker of the Year 2008

17 November 2009
Congress Center Messe Frankfurt

go to event

Search & Tools

Jobs | Privacy | Terms | Imprint | Newsletter request

Deutsch | English

Sponsor Ticket